The best smart plug outlet adapters make everyday lamps and appliances easier to schedule and control by voice or app. I rank the Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini EP10 as my best overall pick for its compact 15A design, while the Linkind Matter Smart Plug stands out for cross-platform compatibility and the Kasa EP40 Outdoor Smart Plug for separate control of two outdoor outlets. The main tradeoffs are whether you need a multipack, compatibility with a particular smart-home platform, or an outdoor-rated model rather than a basic indoor plug. Compact single plugs suit tight outlets, while multi-outlet designs can add flexibility but take up more space. Read on for the full breakdown and guidance on choosing the right adapter for your devices.
Get home appliances delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Kasa EP10 is the strongest all-around fit for shoppers who want a compact 15A indoor plug without needing a multipack.
- Linkind Matter is the standout for platform flexibility across Apple Home, Alexa, Siri, and Google Home; check your controller and network setup before buying.
- Multipacks serve different needs: amazon.com/dp/B0D7ZWGXGP?tag=applianceslabs.com-20&ascsubtag=dc-1264394″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>GHome, Govee, Amazon Basics, and Kasa bundles vary in platform support and plug layout, so pack size alone does not make them interchangeable.
- Two-outlet control changes the use case: Govee’s dual indoor plug and Kasa’s EP40 outdoor model can manage more than one connected device, but the EP40 is the purpose-built outdoor choice.
- Brand families offer both single plugs and bundles, letting buyers prioritize a small commitment, several rooms, or a specific setting instead of treating every smart plug as the same product.
| Amazon Smart Plug, Works with Alexa, Simple Setup, Endless Possibilities | ![]() | Best for Alexa-Only Homes | Plug type: Single-socket, 3-prong Wi-Fi plug | Maximum input: 120 VAC, 60 Hz, 15 A | Maximum output: 15 A | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| GHome Smart Plug with Wi-Fi, Alexa and Google Home Compatibility, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for App and Voice Flexibility | Model: WP3 | Pack size: 4 plugs | Connectivity: 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| GHome Smart Wi-Fi Plug, 15A, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for 5 GHz Wi-Fi and Higher Capacity | Model: WP3-A | Pack size: 4 plugs | Connectivity: Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and 5 GHz Wi-Fi | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Govee Smart Plugs with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Bluetooth-Assisted Setup | Model: B5081 | Quantity: 4 smart plugs | Connectivity: Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A, EP10, Smart Home Wi-Fi Outlet | ![]() | Best Compact Single-Plug Pick | Model: EP10 | Pack size: 1 plug | Maximum current: 15 A | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A, EP10P2, Smart Home Wi-Fi Outlet | ![]() | Best Compact Two-Pack | Model: EP10P2 | Pack size: 2 plugs | Maximum current: 15 A | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Basics Smart Plug, Alexa-Compatible, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Alexa-Only Homes | Pack size: 4 plugs | Compatibility: Amazon Alexa only | Connectivity: 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Mini Plug, 15A, 4-Pack (EP10P4) | ![]() | Best Multi-Room Kasa Pick | Model: EP10P4 | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum current: 15 A | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Smart Plug HS103P2 Wi-Fi Outlet, 2-Pack | ![]() | Best Straightforward Kasa Two-Pack | Model: HS103P2 | Pack size: 2 plugs | Voltage: 120 V AC | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Linkind Matter Smart Plug, Work with Apple Home, Alexa, Siri, Google Home | ![]() | Best Matter-Capable Pick | Pack size: 4 plugs | Connectivity: 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; IPv6 required | Protocol: Matter | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| GHome Wi-Fi Smart Plug with Alexa and Google Assistant Support | ![]() | Best for Flexible App Control | Model: WP3 | Connectivity: 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | Voice assistants: Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa EP40 Outdoor Smart Plug with 2 Independently Controlled Outlets | ![]() | Best Outdoor Adapter | Outlets: 2 independently controlled AC outlets | Maximum load: 15 A / 1875 W per outlet | Wi-Fi: 2.4 GHz; up to 300 ft in open space | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Govee Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Alexa and Google Assistant Compatibility | ![]() | Best Compact Single Plug | Model: H5081101 | Connectivity: Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | Voice assistants: Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Govee Dual Smart Plug, 4-Pack, 15A Wi-Fi and Bluetooth Outlet | ![]() | Best Multi-Outlet Pack | Model: H5082 | Pack size: 4 | Outlets: 2 independently controlled outlets per plug | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| smart plug outlet adapter | Connectivity | Model | Voice assistants | Pack size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Smart Plug | — | — | — | — |
| GHome Smart Plug with Wi-Fi | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | WP3 | Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant | 4 plugs |
| GHome Smart Wi-Fi Plug | Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and 5 GHz Wi-Fi | WP3-A | Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant | 4 plugs |
| Govee Smart Plugs with Wi-Fi a | Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | B5081 | Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant | — |
| Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A | — | EP10 | — | 1 plug |
| Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | EP10P2 | Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant | 2 plugs |
| Amazon Basics Smart Plug | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | — | — | 4 plugs |
| Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Mini Plug | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | EP10P4 | Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant | 4 plugs |
| Kasa Smart Plug HS103P2 Wi-Fi | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | HS103P2 | Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant | 2 plugs |
| Linkind Matter Smart Plug | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; IPv6 required | — | — | 4 plugs |
| GHome Wi-Fi Smart Plug with Al | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | WP3 | Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant | — |
| Kasa EP40 Outdoor Smart Plug w | — | — | Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant | — |
| Govee Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Al | Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | H5081101 | Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant | — |
| Govee Dual Smart Plug | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth; no 5 GHz Wi-Fi | H5082 | Alexa and Google Assistant | 4 |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Amazon Smart Plug, Works with Alexa, Simple Setup, Endless Possibilities
I’d put the Amazon Smart Plug first for shoppers who want a straightforward adapter that fits into an Alexa-centered home. Setup runs through the Alexa app, and no separate hub is needed; compared with the GHome WP3 plugs, there’s no additional brand app to set up before voice control. Its compact body also leaves the neighboring outlet free, a practical advantage over bulkier adapters when a wall socket needs to serve two devices.
The tradeoff is limited compatibility: this plug is designed for Alexa and doesn’t support Google Assistant or other smart hubs. Its 2.4 GHz-only Wi-Fi requirement may also rule it out for some network setups. I’d choose the Kasa EP10 instead if Google Assistant or SmartThings support matters, while this Amazon model is a cleaner fit for buyers who want Alexa routines and schedules with minimal setup.
Pros:- Alexa app setup without a separate smart-home hub
- Compact design keeps the second wall outlet available
- Supports schedules, timers, and Alexa routines
- Automatically reconnects to Alexa after power or Wi-Fi outages
Cons:- Does not support Google Assistant or other smart-home hubs
- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network
- Indoor use only
Best for: Alexa households that want a single-outlet adapter for lamps, fans, or other devices with a physical on/off switch.
Not ideal for: Buyers using Google Assistant, SmartThings, or a 5 GHz-only Wi-Fi network, since this plug is Alexa-exclusive and supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only.
- Plug type:Single-socket, 3-prong Wi-Fi plug
- Maximum input:120 VAC, 60 Hz, 15 A
- Maximum output:15 A
- Wi-Fi:2.4 GHz, 802.11 b/g/n
- Voice assistant:Amazon Alexa only
- Dimensions:3.2 x 1.5 x 2.2 inches
- Weight:3.1 oz
- Use:Indoor
Our verdict“Choose this plug for simple Alexa control and routines, but pick the Kasa EP10 if you need broader assistant compatibility.”
GHome Smart Plug with Wi-Fi, Alexa and Google Home Compatibility, 4-Pack
The GHome WP3 four-pack suits buyers who want several smart outlets and a choice of control apps. It works with Alexa and Google Assistant, and can also be managed through GHome, Smart Life, or Tuya. That flexibility sets it apart from the Alexa-only Amazon Smart Plug, while group control, timers, and schedules make it easier to manage multiple lamps or small appliances together. Remote app control is useful when you’re away from home.
The setup path is less direct than Amazon’s: you need to configure the plugs in the GHome app before linking a voice assistant. This model also supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, not 5 GHz, and its stated 1200 W capacity is lower than the 1800 W rating listed for the GHome WP3-A. I’d favor this version for app choice and multi-plug control, but compare the WP3-A if higher stated capacity or 5 GHz support matters.
Pros:- Four plugs support control across multiple outlets
- Compatible with Alexa and Google Assistant
- Works with GHome, Smart Life, and Tuya apps
- Offers remote control, schedules, timers, and group control
Cons:- Requires initial setup through the GHome app before voice-assistant linking
- Supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
- Listed maximum wattage is 1200 W
Best for: Households setting up several lamps or small appliances that want Alexa or Google control plus a choice of compatible apps.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want direct Alexa setup, need 5 GHz Wi-Fi support, or require the higher stated wattage of the GHome WP3-A.
- Model:WP3
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Compatible apps:GHome, Smart Life, and Tuya
- Voltage:120 V
- Maximum wattage:1200 W
- Dimensions:2.1 x 2.1 x 1.1 inches
- Certifications:ETL and FCC
Our verdict“Pick this four-pack if app flexibility and shared control matter more than a simpler setup or the WP3-A’s higher stated capacity.”
GHome Smart Wi-Fi Plug, 15A, 4-Pack
Among the four-plug options here, the GHome WP3-A stands out for its listed 15 A, 1800 W capacity and support for both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz Wi-Fi. That makes it a more flexible network fit than the GHome WP3 four-pack, which is listed for 2.4 GHz and 1200 W. It also supports Alexa and Google Assistant, with app, voice, and push-button control, so there’s a physical way to switch a connected device without reaching for a phone.
Those advantages come with a setup step: configure the plugs through the GHome app before linking a voice assistant. Like the Amazon Smart Plug, this is a Wi-Fi adapter rather than a hub-based system, but Amazon’s setup is more direct for Alexa users. I’d choose the WP3-A when the broader Wi-Fi band support and higher stated rating are useful, and skip it if you want a single-brand, Alexa-first setup.
Pros:- Supports both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- Four plugs rated at up to 15 A and 1800 W
- Works with Alexa and Google Assistant
- Includes app, voice, and push-button control
Cons:- Requires setup through the GHome app before voice-assistant linking
- Plastic construction may not suit buyers seeking a more robust housing
- Four-plug pack may be more than needed for a single-device setup
Best for: Buyers outfitting several outlets who need 5 GHz Wi-Fi support, Alexa or Google Assistant, and a higher stated plug capacity.
Not ideal for: Alexa users who want the simplest app setup, or shoppers who don’t need a four-pack and its multiple-plug configuration.
- Model:WP3-A
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Connectivity:Bluetooth, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Control methods:App, voice, and push button
- Dimensions:2.1 x 2.1 x 1.1 inches
- Material:Plastic
- Certifications:ETL and FCC
Our verdict“Choose the WP3-A over the GHome WP3 when 5 GHz support and its higher stated capacity are the deciding factors.”
Govee Smart Plugs with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-Pack
The Govee four-pack is a practical match for buyers who want app scheduling and voice control across several outlets, with Bluetooth available alongside 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. It supports Alexa and Google Assistant, and lets users group plugs or create schedules in the Govee Home app. Compared with the Amazon Smart Plug, it offers broader assistant support and comes as a multi-plug set; compared with the GHome WP3-A, it does not list 5 GHz Wi-Fi support.
Capacity deserves a close read: the supplied details state 1200 W and list the amperage as both 11 A and 10 A, so I wouldn’t treat it as the right pick for a load near the limit without checking the product’s current labeling. The lack of 5 GHz support also narrows network fit. I’d choose it for ordinary indoor devices and grouped app control, not for high-load use or a 5 GHz-only setup.
Pros:- Four plugs support automation across multiple outlets
- Compatible with Alexa and Google Assistant
- Govee Home app supports schedules and grouped control
- Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connectivity; no hub required
Cons:- Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- Provided amperage details conflict between 10 A and 11 A
- Listed power capacity is 1200 W
Best for: People automating several indoor lamps or small appliances who want Alexa and Google Assistant support plus Bluetooth connectivity.
Not ideal for: Buyers using 5 GHz-only Wi-Fi or those who need a clearly specified higher-capacity plug for a demanding appliance.
- Model:B5081
- Quantity:4 smart plugs
- Connectivity:Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Voltage:120 V
- Amperage:Listed as 10 A and 11 A in product details
- Power:1200 W
- Plug type:Type B
- Certifications:ETL and FCC
Our verdict“Choose the Govee set for grouped control of ordinary indoor devices, but favor the GHome WP3-A for 5 GHz support and a clearer 15 A rating.”
Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A, EP10, Smart Home Wi-Fi Outlet
The Kasa EP10 is the most versatile compact single-plug choice in this group. Its ultra-mini shape is designed to leave the neighboring outlet available, while the 15 A, 1800 W rating covers the stated capacity of the Amazon Smart Plug and the GHome WP3-A. It works with Alexa and Google Assistant, and the supplied description also lists Samsung SmartThings support—more options than Amazon’s Alexa-only plug. Schedules, timers, remote control, and Away Mode give it useful automation beyond simple voice switching.
This is a one-pack, so it’s less suited to outfitting a whole room than the GHome or Govee four-packs. It also relies on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and requires the Kasa app for setup, so buyers should expect an app-based start rather than Amazon’s Alexa-centered path. I’d pick it for one crowded outlet and broader assistant support, but choose a multipack for several devices.
Pros:- Compact design is made to leave the second outlet free
- 15 A and 1800 W maximum rating
- Supports Alexa, Google Assistant, and Samsung SmartThings
- Offers schedules, timers, remote control, and Away Mode
Cons:- Single-plug package is less suitable for automating multiple outlets
- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network
- Initial setup uses the Kasa app
Best for: Buyers who need one compact adapter that keeps the second wall outlet free and supports Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings.
Not ideal for: Shoppers automating several devices at once or using a 5 GHz-only network, since this is a single plug with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Model:EP10
- Pack size:1 plug
- Maximum current:15 A
- Maximum power:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V AC
- Wi-Fi:2.4 GHz
- Voice and smart-home compatibility:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and Samsung SmartThings
- Certifications:UL, RoHS, FCC, and IC
- Operating temperature:32°F to 104°F
Our verdict“Choose the Kasa EP10 for one space-saving plug with broad assistant support; pick a GHome or Govee pack for several outlets.”
Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A, EP10P2, Smart Home Wi-Fi Outlet
I’d choose the Kasa EP10P2 when keeping a neighboring outlet free matters more than buying a larger bundle. Its ultra-compact shape is designed not to block the second socket, and the two-pack gives you a straightforward way to automate a pair of lamps, fans, or other suitable appliances. Like the Kasa EP10P4, it supports Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThings, schedules, timers, and remote control, but this pack is better suited to a smaller setup than outfitting several rooms. It connects directly to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, so there’s no hub to add. The tradeoff is that it won’t help buyers with a 5 GHz-only network, and its simple on/off control lacks energy monitoring. Choose the four-pack if you need broader coverage.
Pros:- Compact design is intended to leave the second wall outlet accessible.
- Works with Alexa, Google Assistant, and Samsung SmartThings.
- Scheduling, timers, remote control, and Away Mode support everyday automation.
- Two plugs are included, with a 15 A maximum load per plug.
Cons:- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and a compatible app setup.
- Provides on/off control rather than energy monitoring.
- Two plugs offer less coverage than the Kasa EP10P4 four-pack.
Best for: People automating one or two lamps or small appliances who want a compact plug that preserves access to the neighboring wall outlet.
Not ideal for: Buyers outfitting several rooms, anyone needing energy-use tracking, or households without a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.
- Model:EP10P2
- Pack size:2 plugs
- Maximum current:15 A
- Operating voltage:120 V AC
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Additional compatibility:Samsung SmartThings
- Certifications:UL, RoHS, FCC, IC
Our verdict“Pick the EP10P2 for compact, app-controlled automation of a couple of outlets; choose the EP10P4 if you need more plugs at once.”
Amazon Basics Smart Plug, Alexa-Compatible, 4-Pack
The Amazon Basics four-pack keeps setup and control inside Alexa: connect each plug to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, then use the Alexa app, voice commands, or scheduled routines. That makes it a natural fit for someone who already runs their smart home through Alexa and wants four outlets automated without a hub or another manufacturer’s app. Its compact form is also intended to leave an adjacent outlet available. Compared with the Kasa EP10P4, this option is more narrowly focused: Kasa adds Google Assistant and SmartThings compatibility, while Amazon Basics is for Alexa households only. That limitation is the main reason I wouldn’t choose it for a mixed-platform home. It also has a one-year limited warranty, shorter than the two-year warranty listed for the Kasa models.
Pros:- Four plugs provide a simple way to automate multiple outlets.
- Alexa app control, voice commands, and scheduled routines are supported.
- No hub or third-party app is required.
- Compact dimensions are designed to preserve access to the adjacent outlet.
Cons:- Works with Alexa only.
- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection.
- One-year limited warranty is shorter than the listed Kasa plug warranties.
Best for: Alexa households that want to automate several lamps or small appliances using one familiar app and voice assistant.
Not ideal for: Homes centered on Google Assistant, Apple Home, or SmartThings, and buyers who want one plug model to work across multiple platforms.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Compatibility:Amazon Alexa only
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Plug type:Type B
- Amperage:15 A
- Dimensions:2.7 × 2.1 × 1.5 in
- Weight:2.4 oz
- Warranty:1-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose this four-pack if Alexa is your home’s control platform and broader assistant compatibility is not a priority.”
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Mini Plug, 15A, 4-Pack (EP10P4)
For a buyer automating several rooms, the Kasa EP10P4 is the more useful Kasa choice in this group: it brings four compact plugs together and retains compatibility with Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings. Each plug supports schedules, timers, remote control, and Away Mode, which can switch connected lights on and off to suggest occupancy. Compared with the two-plug EP10P2, the EP10P4 is better suited to a wider setup; its basic on/off controls remain much the same. The tradeoff is that every plug still depends on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and the Kasa or Tapo app for setup and management. It also won’t provide energy-use readings. I’d pick it over the Alexa-only Amazon Basics pack when household members use different voice assistants.
Pros:- Four compact plugs cover more outlets than the EP10P2 two-pack.
- Works with Alexa, Google Assistant, and Samsung SmartThings.
- Scheduling, timers, remote control, and Away Mode are included.
- No hub required; UL certified and listed with a two-year warranty.
Cons:- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and the Kasa or Tapo app.
- Does not provide energy-use monitoring.
- The four-plug bundle may be more than a small setup needs.
Best for: Households that want to automate several lights or small appliances across rooms and need compatibility with Alexa, Google Assistant, or SmartThings.
Not ideal for: Buyers who only need one or two plugs, want energy monitoring, or can’t connect devices to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Model:EP10P4
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum current:15 A
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Additional compatibility:Samsung SmartThings
- Certifications:UL, RoHS, FCC, IC
Our verdict“Choose the EP10P4 for multi-room Kasa automation and broad voice-assistant support, rather than a smaller two-plug setup.”
Kasa Smart Plug HS103P2 Wi-Fi Outlet, 2-Pack
The Kasa HS103P2 is a practical two-plug choice for basic remote switching and scheduled control. It handles the familiar jobs—turning lamps or fans on and off through the Kasa app or with Alexa and Google Assistant—without a hub. Against the Kasa EP10P2, the HS103P2 offers a similarly simple two-plug setup, while the EP10P2 is explicitly described as ultra-compact and its product details list SmartThings support and Away Mode. That makes the newer mini model a better fit if outlet clearance or those extra controls matter. The HS103P2’s appeal is its clear, uncomplicated feature set and two-year warranty. Its limits are equally plain: it needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and doesn’t offer energy monitoring or broader platform compatibility beyond the listed assistants.
Pros:- Remote control through the Kasa app, with Alexa and Google Assistant support.
- Schedules and timers automate routine on/off tasks.
- Two plugs are included and no hub is required.
- UL certified and listed with a two-year warranty.
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection.
- No energy monitoring is listed.
- Its listed assistant support is narrower than the EP10P2’s stated compatibility.
Best for: Buyers who want two basic Kasa-controlled outlets for lamps or fans, with Alexa or Google Assistant voice control and scheduling.
Not ideal for: People who need SmartThings support, Away Mode, energy-use data, or a plug specifically described as ultra-compact.
- Model:HS103P2
- Pack size:2 plugs
- Voltage:120 V AC
- Maximum current:15 A resistive
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Plug type:Type B
- Certification:UL certified
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Pick the HS103P2 for uncomplicated two-outlet Kasa control, but choose the EP10P2 if its compact design and added compatibility better match your setup.”
Linkind Matter Smart Plug, Work with Apple Home, Alexa, Siri, Google Home
The Linkind Matter Smart Plug stands apart from the Kasa models by targeting buyers who want devices managed through a Matter-compatible smart-home platform. It lists support for Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, Siri, and SmartThings; by comparison, the Kasa EP10P4 covers Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings but doesn’t list Apple Home. Matter can also allow local control among compatible devices on the home network if internet access is down. The setup has a catch: using those platforms requires a compatible Matter controller, while the AiDot app is offered as a hub-free alternative. It also requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and IPv6, a narrower network requirement than the other plugs’ stated 2.4 GHz-only condition. Its platform breadth is valuable, but buyers without a controller may find the setup less direct.
Pros:- Matter support connects with several listed platforms, including Apple Home and SmartThings.
- Local network control between compatible Matter devices can continue without internet access.
- AiDot app control is available as an alternative to a Matter controller.
- Supports scheduling, timers, remote control, and a 15 A, 1800 W load.
Cons:- A compatible Matter controller is required for Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings platform use.
- Requires both 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and IPv6.
- The supplied information lists a four-pack but does not specify warranty duration.
Best for: Smart-home users building around Apple Home or multiple Matter-compatible platforms who already have, or plan to add, a compatible controller.
Not ideal for: People seeking the simplest Wi-Fi plug setup, those without a Matter controller who want to use a major platform, or homes without IPv6 support.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; IPv6 required
- Protocol:Matter
- Maximum current:15 A
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Voice and platform compatibility:Apple Home, Alexa, Siri, Google Home, SmartThings
- Controller requirement:Matter-certified controller for listed smart-home platforms; AiDot app can be used without one
- Plug type:Type A
- Certification:FCC certified
Our verdict“Choose Linkind when Matter and Apple Home compatibility matter enough to justify the controller and network requirements.”
GHome Wi-Fi Smart Plug with Alexa and Google Assistant Support
I’d choose this single-outlet adapter when app flexibility matters more than high electrical capacity. It works with GHome, Smart Life, or Tuya, and offers schedules, timers, and group control alongside Alexa and Google Assistant support. Bluetooth setup gives another route through initial configuration, but the plug still needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for connected control. Compared with the Govee Smart Wi-Fi Plug, its stated maximum is 1200 W rather than a 10 A rating, so I’d be more cautious about the load and check an appliance’s requirements before connecting it. The other tradeoff is setup order: the GHome app must be connected before voice assistant control. It makes more sense for routine household devices than for higher-draw equipment.
Pros:- Supports GHome, Smart Life, and Tuya apps
- Works with Alexa and Google Assistant
- Scheduling, timers, and group control support automation
- Bluetooth setup is available alongside 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
Cons:- Limited to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for network control
- Requires setup through the GHome app before Alexa or Google Home use
- 1200 W maximum is lower than the listed capacity of the Govee Smart Wi-Fi Plug
Best for: Buyers who want a single plug with several compatible app options and scheduled control for lamps or other modest-load devices.
Not ideal for: People with 5 GHz-only Wi-Fi or appliances that need more than the stated 1200 W maximum.
- Model:WP3
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Maximum wattage:1200 W
- Dimensions:2.1 × 2.1 × 1.1 in
- Certifications:ETL and FCC
- Hub required:No
Our verdict“Choose this GHome plug for flexible app options and automation of modest-load devices, but skip it for higher-wattage appliances.”
Kasa EP40 Outdoor Smart Plug with 2 Independently Controlled Outlets
For outdoor lighting or other compatible exterior devices, I rank the Kasa EP40 ahead of the indoor plugs here because it pairs two independently controlled outlets with IP64 weather resistance. That means a schedule can operate one connected device without forcing the second onto the same routine. Each outlet is rated for up to 15 A / 1875 W, a higher stated capacity than the GHome WP3’s 1200 W maximum, though connected equipment still needs to stay within its rating. The Kasa app, voice control, schedules, and countdown timers add useful ways to manage outdoor loads without a hub. Its stated Wi-Fi range of up to 300 feet applies to open space, not every yard or wall-filled layout, and the plug still requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.
Pros:- Two outlets can be controlled independently
- IP64 weather resistance and an attached protective cover
- Supports app, voice, schedules, and countdown timers
- No hub required; each outlet is rated up to 15 A / 1875 W
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection
- The 300-foot range is specified for open space and may not reflect a home’s layout
- Its outdoor-focused form is less suited to compact indoor outlet setups
Best for: Homeowners automating two outdoor devices, such as landscape lights and seasonal lighting, who want separate schedules and weather-resistant housing.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking an indoor compact plug or those whose outdoor outlet is beyond reliable 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi coverage.
- Outlets:2 independently controlled AC outlets
- Maximum load:15 A / 1875 W per outlet
- Wi-Fi:2.4 GHz; up to 300 ft in open space
- Weather resistance:IP64
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Plug type:Type B
- Dimensions:4.9 × 2.38 × 2.29 in
- Certification and warranty:ETL; 2 years
Our verdict“Pick the Kasa EP40 when you need separate smart control for two outdoor devices and can provide dependable 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.”
Govee Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Alexa and Google Assistant Compatibility
The Govee Smart Wi-Fi Plug is the straightforward choice when the job calls for one compact adapter, not a multi-outlet block. Its small design suits a crowded receptacle better than the larger Govee Dual Smart Plug, which is built around two outlets per unit. The Govee Home app supports remote control, schedules, and group control, while Alexa and Google Assistant add voice operation. Bluetooth joins 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for setup and connectivity, but there is no 5 GHz support. Its 10 A rating gives a useful limit to check against the connected device; buyers should not assume it matches higher-capacity options such as the Kasa EP40, which is rated at 15 A per outlet. This is an indoor-oriented, single-outlet pick rather than a way to manage multiple devices independently.
Pros:- Compact design suits tighter outlet spaces
- Supports app, voice, scheduling, and group control
- Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connectivity
- ETL and FCC certified
Cons:- Single outlet provides no separate control for a second device
- Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- 10 A rating is below the Kasa EP40’s stated 15 A per outlet
Best for: People who need one compact smart adapter for a lamp or other compatible device and want app, voice, and scheduled control.
Not ideal for: Buyers needing two controlled outlets, outdoor weather resistance, or a 5 GHz-only network.
- Model:H5081101
- Connectivity:Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Voltage:120 V
- Amperage:10 A
- Plug type:Type B
- Certifications:ETL and FCC
- Included components:Smart plug H5083 and user manual
Our verdict“Choose this Govee model for compact, single-device automation, not for outdoor use or higher-capacity multi-outlet control.”
Govee Dual Smart Plug, 4-Pack, 15A Wi-Fi and Bluetooth Outlet
I’d put this four-pack first for buyers who want to automate several locations and need two separately controlled outlets on each plug. That gives it a different role from the single-outlet Govee Smart Wi-Fi Plug: this model can manage more devices without making each pair share one control schedule. App control, Alexa, Google Assistant, timers, and schedules cover everyday automation, and Wi-Fi plus Bluetooth connectivity works without a physical hub. The supplied data lists 1800 W and 120 V, but does not state a per-outlet amperage limit, so I would check the product’s load guidance before connecting demanding appliances. Like the Govee single plug and GHome WP3, it is limited to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. A Govee Home account is also required, which may deter buyers seeking account-free setup.
Pros:- Four plugs provide two independently controlled outlets each
- Works with the Govee Home app, Alexa, and Google Assistant
- Timers and schedules enable automated control
- Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connectivity with no physical hub required
Cons:- Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- Requires a Govee Home account
- Provided specifications do not state a per-outlet amperage limit
Best for: Households automating multiple lamps or other compatible devices that benefit from two independently controlled outlets at each location.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need 5 GHz Wi-Fi, want to avoid a Govee Home account, or need clearly specified per-outlet load limits for demanding equipment.
- Model:H5082
- Pack size:4
- Outlets:2 independently controlled outlets per plug
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth; no 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- Voice assistants:Alexa and Google Assistant
- Certifications:ETL and FCC
Our verdict“Choose this pack to add separately controlled outlets across several rooms, provided 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and a Govee account work for you.”

How We Picked
I ranked these smart plug outlet adapters by how well their stated features solve common buyer needs: reliable smart-home compatibility, practical outlet design, suitable electrical capacity where listed, and ease of choosing between a single plug and a bundle. I also separated indoor models from the Kasa EP40 outdoor adapter, since an outdoor use case calls for a different product than controlling a lamp indoors. Platform support mattered because a plug is only useful if it fits the buyer’s existing voice assistant or smart-home system.
The order reflects the breadth of use, not a claim that every buyer should choose the same model. Compact, straightforward options rank ahead for general indoor use; multipacks rank well for outfitting several locations, while Matter and dual-outlet designs rise for buyers with specific compatibility or control needs. I treated repeated product families as distinct choices only where bundle size, outlet layout, or stated compatibility changes the buying decision. Where product details do not establish a feature, I avoid treating it as a proven advantage.
| smart plug outlet adapter | Plug type | Voice assistants | Certifications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Smart Plug | Single-socket, 3-prong Wi-Fi plug | — | — |
| GHome Smart Plug with Wi-Fi | — | Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant | ETL and FCC |
| GHome Smart Wi-Fi Plug | — | Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant | ETL and FCC |
| Govee Smart Plugs with Wi-Fi a | Type B | Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant | ETL and FCC |
| Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A | — | — | UL, RoHS, FCC, and IC |
| Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A | — | Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant | UL, RoHS, FCC, IC |
| Amazon Basics Smart Plug | Type B | — | — |
| Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Mini Plug | — | Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant | UL, RoHS, FCC, IC |
| Kasa Smart Plug HS103P2 Wi-Fi | Type B | Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant | — |
| Linkind Matter Smart Plug | Type A | — | — |
| GHome Wi-Fi Smart Plug with Al | — | Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant | ETL and FCC |
| Kasa EP40 Outdoor Smart Plug w | Type B | Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant | — |
| Govee Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Al | Type B | Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant | ETL and FCC |
| Govee Dual Smart Plug | — | Alexa and Google Assistant | ETL and FCC |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Smart Plug Outlet Adapters
Before choosing a plug, I would start with the device you want to control and the outlet where it will sit. These checks help avoid buying a bundle that does not fit your home setup or an adapter that cannot serve the intended location.
Match the plug to the device’s electrical needs
A smart plug does not make an unsuitable appliance safe to control, so check the appliance label and the plug’s stated electrical rating before connecting anything. Several Kasa and GHome listings specify 15A, but a rating should not be assumed for models whose listing does not state one. Pay particular attention to high-draw appliances and devices with motors or heating elements; confirm the manufacturer permits smart-plug control. A plug intended for a lamp may be a poor match for an appliance with a different load profile. If the device’s requirements are unclear, consult its manual or manufacturer rather than guessing from the plug’s shape. This check matters more than choosing a larger bundle.
Check smart-home compatibility before choosing a brand
Compatibility names can look similar while describing different levels of integration. A plug listed for Alexa and Google Home may suit a household using either assistant, while the Linkind model explicitly adds Matter and Apple Home support. Matter can help buyers avoid tying a purchase to a single brand ecosystem, but a compatible controller and suitable network setup may still be required. Do not infer Apple Home support from Siri-related wording alone; confirm the exact listing and setup requirements. If several people in the household use different systems, cross-platform support may be worth more than a small difference in plug count. For a single-assistant home, simpler compatibility may be all you need.
Plan around outlet spacing and neighboring plugs
Compact plug bodies can leave nearby receptacles usable, which matters in crowded wall outlets and power strips. Ultra-mini models such as the Kasa EP10 family are designed around a smaller form, while dual-outlet adapters need more physical room. A two-outlet product can reduce the number of adapters required, but it may block an adjacent socket depending on the outlet layout. Measure or inspect the space around the outlet, especially behind furniture and near bulky chargers. Also check whether the plug’s orientation fits a low wall outlet or an outlet hidden behind a cabinet. Counting sockets alone does not tell you how many will remain accessible.
Choose a bundle size based on where control is useful
Multipacks are practical when you already have several lamps or small devices in mind, but buying extra plugs without a plan can leave them unused. A single adapter is a better way to add control to one location or confirm that a product works with your household’s setup. Two- and four-packs suit different room counts, and the listed products include several such options across Kasa, GHome, Govee, and Amazon Basics. Compare the function of each plug as well as the bundle size: a four-pack with one outlet per adapter is not the same as a dual-outlet unit. Think about whether you want schedules, voice control, or separate control of multiple devices before selecting a pack. That makes the bundle a fit for your routine rather than just a count.
Keep indoor and outdoor use separate
Indoor smart plugs should not be treated as outdoor equipment just because they connect over Wi-Fi. The Kasa EP40 is the outdoor-specific choice in this lineup and offers two independently controlled outlets, which can be useful when outdoor devices need separate schedules. Before buying for a patio or yard, check the product’s stated weather protection, installation requirements, and the conditions at the intended outlet. Keep connections and devices within the manufacturer’s use guidelines, including any limits on exposure. An outdoor-rated plug may be unnecessary for a living room lamp, while an indoor model is not a substitute for one designed for outdoor conditions. Match the product to the location first, then compare smart features.
Decide whether separate outlet control is worth the space
A dual smart plug can control two connected devices, but buyers should confirm whether the outlets are independently controllable or operate together. The Kasa EP40 explicitly lists independent control, while Govee offers a dual-plug option in this roundup; check its exact control behavior before purchase. Separate control matters when two devices need different schedules, but it adds little if both should switch on and off together. Also consider the connected devices’ combined electrical load and the available physical clearance. A pair of compact single plugs may fit some setups better than one larger adapter, while a dual unit can simplify a crowded outlet. Choose by the control pattern you need, not outlet count alone.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use any of these smart plugs with Apple Home?
The Linkind Matter Smart Plug is the clearest fit in this lineup for Apple Home because its listing names Apple Home and Matter support. Do not assume that a plug compatible with Alexa or Google Home will also work with Apple Home. Matter setup may depend on having a compatible controller and network configuration, so check those requirements before ordering. If your home already uses another ecosystem, confirm that the plug can join it as well. This can prevent buying an adapter that works with a voice assistant you rarely use but not the system you rely on.
Should I buy a single smart plug or a multipack?
A single plug makes sense when you have one clear use, want to confirm compatibility, or need to fit a specific outlet. A multipack is more practical if you plan to control several devices in different rooms and know the plugs will be used. The roundup includes bundles from GHome, Govee, Amazon Basics, and Kasa, but their compatibility and layouts differ. Compare the number of adapters with the number of independently controlled devices you need. A bundle is not a better fit if its extra plugs will sit unused or its platform support misses your setup.
Can I connect a heater, coffee maker, or other high-draw appliance?
Check both the appliance’s manual and the smart plug’s electrical rating before connecting a high-draw device. Some products here list a 15A rating, but that does not establish suitability for every heater, motor, or heating appliance. The appliance maker may restrict remote switching, and a device’s startup load can matter alongside its normal operating load. Do not rely on a plug’s smart-home compatibility as evidence that it is electrically appropriate. If the requirements are unclear, use the appliance as directed and ask its manufacturer for guidance.
Do I need a Matter plug if I already use Alexa or Google Home?
Not necessarily: a plug listed for your current assistant may be enough if your household plans to stay with that system. Matter is more compelling when you want broader smart-home platform options or expect to change ecosystems later. The Linkind model is the lineup’s named Matter option, while several other picks focus on Alexa and Google compatibility. Matter does not remove the need to check the controller and setup requirements. Choose it for flexibility you expect to use, not simply because the standard is listed.
Is the Kasa EP40 suitable for indoor outlets, too?
The EP40 is the roundup’s outdoor-focused choice, with two independently controlled outlets, so it makes the most sense when you need control outside. For ordinary indoor lamps or small devices, a compact Kasa EP10 or another indoor model may take up less space and better match the job. If you plan to use the EP40 indoors, follow its manufacturer’s directions and confirm that its shape and outlet arrangement work in that room. Do not choose it as an indoor substitute based only on its extra outlet. Its distinct advantage is the outdoor use case, not a universal edge over indoor plugs.
Conclusion
For most indoor setups, I would start with the Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini EP10: it combines a compact form with a stated 15A rating and suits buyers who need a straightforward single adapter. For best value across several locations, compare the GHome, Govee, Amazon Basics, and Kasa multipacks against your assistant and outlet-spacing needs rather than choosing by pack size alone. The Linkind Matter Smart Plug is my premium-style pick for buyers who want named support across Apple Home, Alexa, Siri, and Google Home, provided their setup meets Matter requirements. Beginners who want a simple Alexa-focused entry point can start with the Amazon Smart Plug; it is less suited to homes centered on other platforms. For outdoor control, choose the Kasa EP40, while shoppers who need more than one controlled outlet indoors should compare it with Govee’s dual-plug option. Match the plug to your device, ecosystem, and outlet before deciding.
Fall yard work Picks
leaf blowers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

















